“Prelude”

It’s time I introduce myself. You can call me Jax, but I’m better known by the name Ellie. Given the circumstances, there isn’t very much information I can provide other than who I am as a person. I like to believe that I am very willing to be well acquainted with anyone here, but I ask that everyone respect my privacy. I’m fine, however, with being asked general questions.

First things; I enjoy telling stories. I would call myself a writer if my skills weren’t all that shabby, but I will allow this to be a place where I document my improvement. I started writing from the time I had my hands on my first computer. I would return every year to this document I started with the expectation that I would publish it as a book by age thirty. These days I mostly indulge in fiction, seeing it as an escape from the world but also a way to get a certain message across (widely known as ‘the moral of the story’).

Aside from the fact that I create fiction, I read both fiction and non-fiction. I like to say that fiction could not exist without non-fiction; that non-fiction is not only the influence but also the beginning of fiction. I once heard someone say that writing fiction is just another term for lying with style. While I can concur with that, I also say that fiction is an exaggeration of the real-world; an organised form of imagination.

I go through life observing. If you were to ask anyone who knew me in person, they would tell you I never actually voice my true opinion. Those closest to me would tell you, just as they’ve told me, that I’m a good listener. When I say something, I’m either being sarcastic or flat-out joking. I grew up with the habit of eavesdropping and thoroughly looking through things. I take in just as much as I can.

When you’re someone who is both observant and starry-eyed, you end up coming with a bunch of ideas based off of what you take in. In my case, I created a series of characters that I write about. Each of them are a cluster of things, events, phrases, etc. that I came across while doing my observing. The sad thing about this is that I created so many characters that they were only something temporary. Most of them, I haven’t even finished writing their backstory yet. I constantly shift from new character to newer character.

The one thing I like is that these characters stay with me. I can return to them whenever I like. Perhaps one day I will be able to write books about them. That’s one of the (lower) priority goals I have in life. Lower.

In the sidebar I have links to my character’s blogs (there is only one at the moment but will be momentarily updated). I’ll also have a category set up dedicated just for my characters, where I will post write-ups summarising who they are. Feel free to have a looksie.

2 thoughts on ““Prelude”

  1. Udit. April 13, 2016 / 9:20 AM

    I loved reading this, but I really don’t have anything to add strangely enough. I hope you understand.
    You’ve just started out, and I’m sure you’ll enjoy blogging. 🙂

    Like

    • Endless Journeys April 14, 2016 / 4:13 PM

      Hello! I really appreciate you having enjoyed this. I am quite sporadic in this internet world due to real life tasks, but I will have my next post up soon. Thank you so so much for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

